Gormanston: One College – One Book September

With a new academic year just beginning, it is time to get reading again. This month, the whole college community is being encouraged to read the same book at the same time. We hope to see staff, students, parents and past pupils sharing the enjoyment of a good book.

For September 2012 the book is ‘Never Let Me Go’ by Kazuo Ishiguro. This dystopian novel was short-listed for the Booker Prize in 2005 and charts the relationship between Ruth, Tommy and Kathy. We first meet these friends when they are at Hailsham boarding school and we see how their time there affects the rest of their lives.

This novel may prove to be quite a challenge to some junior students but there is plenty in it to keep the interest of seniors. It deals with the difficult topic of bullying and it also has a science fiction element.

As always, post a comment here to let us know your thoughts on the book.

Enjoy reading!

One thought on “Gormanston: One College – One Book September”

  1. Having read the book I have to say I thoroughly enjoyed it. The author uses a brilliantly engaging narrative style combined with a shroud of mystery throughout, which had me captivated from the first chapter. The book progresses in accordance with Kathy remembering times from her past, and the plot flows very well from one part of her life to the next as Kathy matures. Despite the fact that the main character was female, I found myself relating very strongly with Kathy, which made her experiences all the more enjoyable and emotional to me.
    Without wanting to give the outstanding plot away, I found that the author deals strong underlying themes in the novel. I found these themes (like ethical issues) that were raised in the book especially intriguing, and they give this book something special that makes it so memorable in my opinion.
    I would highly recommend ‘Never Let Me Go’ to anyone looking to read something with an interesting plot, that will also provoke their thoughts.
    I won’t soon forget this fantastic novel or the messages and ideas it has left with me. It is truly one of the best novels of the last decade in my opinion and everyone should experience it for themselves.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *