6A1 Easter Revision

Standard

Here is a suggestion for some revision over the Easter holidays. I suggest that you do around 30-45 mins of English a day and I have given you a break on the three Sundays.

  • Sat 31st March – Poet 1: choose the first poet that you are going to revise. Add to your notes on the themes, imagery, techniques etc for this poet. Write out the key quotes onto index cards and learn them well.
  • Mon 2nd April – Dancing at Lughnasa: revise your key quotes for each character.
  • Tues 3rd April – Poet 2: as above
  • Wed 4th April – QB: make a list of the conventions that are expected for each type of QB that could come up, i.e. conventions for a letter, radio talk / speech, diary entry, website article, report, memo, interview, dialogue, proposal etc.
  • Thurs 5th April – General Vision and Viewpoint: write out a detailed essay plan for an essay chosen from the papers. Practice some quality linking sentences.
  • Fri 6th April – Poet 3
  • Sat 7th April – Literary Genre: another detailed essay plan. More linking sentences.
  • Mon 9th April – Dancing at Lughnasa: revise your key quotes for each theme.
  • Tues 10th April – Poet 4
  • Wed 11th April – Essay: make a list of the conventions that would be expected in the various essay types, i.e. conventions for a speech, magazine article, short story, personal essay etc.
  • Thurs 12th April – Theme or Issue: another detailed essay plan. More linking sentences.
  • Fri 13th April – Poet 5
  • Sat 14th April – Go back over any topic that you feel is a weakness for you.

Keep an eye on the blog here. I will add extra information, notes, ideas etc over the fortnight. As always, if you have any question or difficulty, make a comment and I will reply as soon as I can.

Best of luck with the studying, and try to get some rest in too 😉

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *